Duets: An American Classic

Release Date September 26, 2006
Label RPM, Columbia
Release Number 82876809792
Format CD
Duets: An American Classic was released in 2006.


Track Layout
 1 Lullaby of Broadway with The Dixie Chicks 3:03
 2 Smile with Barbra Streisand 4:41
 3 Put on a Happy Face with James Taylor 3:15
 4 The Very Thought of You with Paul McCartney 4:01
 5 The Shadow of Your Smile with Juanes 4:34
 6 Rags to Riches with Elton John 2:40
 7 The Good Life with Billy Joel 3:20
 8 Cold, Cold Heart with Tim McGraw 3:17
 9 If I Ruled The World with Celine Dion 2:56
 10 The Best Is Yet To Come with Diana Krall 3:39
 11 For Once in My Life with Stevie Wonder 3:24
 12 Are You Havin’ Any Fun with Elvis Costello 2:45
 13 Because of You with k.d. lang 4:04
 14 Just In Time with Michael Bublé 2:17
 15 The Boulevard of Broken Dreams with Sting 3:23
 16 I Wanna Be Around with Bono 3:01
 17 Sing You Sinners with John Legend 2:18
 18 I Left My Heart in San Francisco piano, Bill Charlap 3:55
 19 How Do You Keep The Music Playing? with George Michael 5:25
Refer to individual session topics for a complete list of musicians for this album

Additional Songs for Target Release

Track Layout
 20 I’ve Got The World on a String with Diana Krall  3:08
 21 Steppin’ Out With My Baby with Michael Bublé  2:03
 22 I Left My Heart in San Francisco with Judy Garland  2:02
 23 The Lady is a Tramp with Frank Sinatra  2:47

Additional Songs for Australia Release

Track Layout
 20 Steppin’ Out With My Baby Delta Goodrem  2:08

Additional Songs for Singapore Release

Track Layout
 20 If I Ruled The World with Wang Hom Lee 2:55

Primary Musical Personnel

Vocals Tony Bennett
Orchestrated and Conducted by Jorge Calandrelli
Duet Partners Bono, Michael Bublé,  Elvis Costello, Celine Dion, Dixie Chicks, Judy Garland, Delta Goodrem, Billy Joel, Elton John, Juanes, Diana Krall, k.d. lang, John Legend, Paul McCartney, Tim McGraw, George Michael, Frank Sinatra, Sting, Barbra Streisand, James Taylor, Stevie Wonder, Wang Hom Lee
Musical Director Lee Musiker
Conductors Johnny Mandel, Torrie Zito
Arrangements Johnny Mandel, Torrie Zito
Piano Lee Musiker, Bill Charlap
Guitar Gray Sargent
Bass Paul Langosch
Drums Harold Jones
Violin Pinchas Zukerman
Flute Lawrence Feldman
Trumpet Chris Botti
Refer to individual session topics for a complete list of musicians for this album


Duets: An American Classic was recorded in Los Angeles, New Jersey and London in February, 2006.

Click a date for detailed information about that session

Production Personnel

Producer Phil Ramone
Executive Producer Danny Bennett
Recorded and Mixed by Dae Bennett
Production Coordinator Vance Anderson
Engineering and Design Live Studio Monitoring Tom Young
Production Manager and Orchestral Contractor Jill Dell’Abate
Pro-Tools Operators Brian Dozoretz, Kevin Harp, Charlie Pakkaari
Assistant Engineer Sam O’Kell
Mix Assistant Brian Dozoretz
Mastering Bob Ludwig
A&R Don DeVito
Art Direction and Design Josh Cheuse
Photography Reuben Cox
Back Cover and Stevie Wonder Photograph James Minchin III
Cover Album Art Ian Wright


  • Management: Danny Bennett, RPM Music Productions, Inc., New York, NY
  • Mosaic based on a photograph by Mark Seliger
  • Photographs courtesy of SONY BMG Archives, Photofest, Everett Collection, Michael Ochs Archives, Retna and The Bennett Family Collection
  • Duets: An American Classic recorded at
    • Abbey Road Studios, London
    • Bennett Studios, Englewood. NJ
    • The Studio at the Palms, Las Vegas, NV
    • Capitol Studios, Los Angeles
    • Grandma’s House, Malibu, CA
  • Mixed at Bennett Studios, Englewood, NJ
  • Mastered at Gateway Mastering, Portland, ME


  • 2007: Grammy Award for Best Traditional Pop Vocal Album
  • 2007: Grammy Award for Best Pop Collaboration with Vocal;  For Once in My Life with Stevie Wonder
  • 2007: Primetime Emmy Award for Individual Performance in a Variety or Music Program for Tony Bennett: An American Classic

Additional Releases

  • 2006: RPM Records/Columbia CD: 82876887352 — Duets: An American Classic [Target Stores]
  • 2006: Sony BMG CD: 828768858721 — Duets: An American Classic [Australia]
  • 2006: Sony BMG CD: 82876885862 — Duets: An American Classic [UK, Singapore]
  • 2011: Disc #70 in The Tony Bennett Complete Collection (88697874603-JK68)


Powered by WordPress. Designed by Woo Themes